New York Foodie Dreams: December 2013

The holidays in New York City are magical- the lights on 6th, Central Park in the snow, the winter wonderland store windows… but most importantly? The food. Yes, because it is below 30° means you are absolutely allowed to eat everything and anything. Pack on those pounds to shield your poor, cold booty from freezing rain. This is the approach that I took, anyway. Read on for my final food adventures in NYC!

image

Roberta’s (Brooklyn)

With the arrival of my foodie friend Kelsey, it was guaranteed the weekend would be about eating, sleeping, shopping. What else do two girls in NYC need? With my final weekends in the city closing in, I needed to fulfill my last few foodie wishes and this talked about pizza joint in Brooklyn was a definite. It took us a few train rides and a misguided Google route through the rain to find Roberta’s door.  But, oh was the trip worth it. We got lucky with wait times all weekend, 20 minutes at Momofuku Noodle Bar, barely a line at Lauduree but snagging an immediate table at this spot was a miracle, we had fresh bread and butter on the table within minutes. We chose two entrees, the Buckwheat Agnolotti and the Darkwing pizza. I had to google about every other ingredient on the menu but when I realized ‘treviso’ was just another fancy term for raddichio, I realized the brilliant balance on this menu. The Darkwing featured mozzarella, chandoka (cheese), cured duck and brussels sprouts. Yes, please! Friday night divine. If you have a few days in NYC, I highly recommend arriving for the early bird seating availability at Roberta’s.

image

Gotham West Market

When I took mom here in November, I let her know that she was getting the next biggest thing before everyone knew it. Editors at Bon Appetit were posting visits on Instagram from their lunches at Ivan Ramen’s latest project, Slurp Shop. Gotham West hosts a few vendors like Blue Bottle Coffee and an outpost of Brooklyn Kitchen. Food halls seem to be the new food trucks and I’m all about this reinvented mall food court. I had the traditional classic shoyu ramen back in November, and for my farewell lunch at Bon Appetit, a few editors took my fellow intern and I out to Gotham West. Garlic Mazemen with egg and roasted tomatoes was the choice- almost an Italian influence on the Japanese noodle dish. Rich and garlicky, the Mazemen was a perfect conclusion to my internship. Oh, yeah, meeting Ivan Orkin himself was pretty sweet too.

Check me out in real time by following me on Instagram! People either tend to be upset with me because I post too much A) Food or B) Dogs. Follow if you love love-hating on food and dogs.

